CRICKET: Challow crushed by leaders

Herald Series: Challow's Olly Dimbylow in action against Horspath Challow's Olly Dimbylow in action against Horspath

Basement boys Challow & Childrey were showed no mercy by the Horspath juggernaut who powered relentlessly on towards the MP Sports Cherwell League Division 1 title with an 108-run away victory.

Ned Murray and Dean Creed were the stars of the show for the unbeaten leaders, who are now 46 points clear at the top with eight wins from 12 outings this summer.

Challow look doomed to a season in Division 2 as they languish in bottom place, 57 points adrift.

Murray hit ten fours and two sixes in an unbeaten 126, puting on 95 with Joe Todd for the first wicket.

Skipper Robbie Eason and Jehan Mohammed joined in the fun as Horspath reached 239-4.

James Phillips and Joe Harris shouldered most of the bowling burden for Challow, getting through 39 overs between them.

Challow were never really in the hunt when they replied.

Seamer Will Eason sent back both openers for 49 and then Creed worked his way steadily through the middle order.

Left-arm spinner Ben Cook chipped in with a couple of wickets, but it was Creed who took the plaudits with 6-54 off 15 overs, Challow falling to 131 all out.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree