CRICKET: Jefferis spell helps Kingston stay up

First published in Cricket

Kingston Bagpuize beat Dinton 2nd by 50 runs to stay up in Division 3 of the MP Sports Cher-well League – at the ex-pense of Oxford 3rd.

Ben Jefferis was their saviour, taking 6-59 as Dinton were all out for 155, of which Mark Ludlow scored 71.

The home side had made 205, with Dave Pearce hitting 34 and Simon Kempster taking 6-71.

K Bagpuize 25pts, Dinton 2nd 7.

Seamer Danny Hartley produced figures of 7-24 from a devastating 12-over spell as Abingdon Vale beat Ban-bury 2nd by nine wickets in Division 2.

Hartley was supported by Graham Charlesworth, who took 3-15 as Banbury chose to bat first, only to be bowled out for 43.

Vale eased to 44-1 to achieve their highest league finish since 1996.

Banbury 2nd 1, Abingdon Vale 25.

James Phillips’s 6-32 and 33 runs were not quite enough to prevent already-relegated Challow & Childrey slipping to their 11th defeat in Division 1.

Chasing Challow’s 158 all out, Buckingham Town were struggling on 119-7.

But the tail took them to 159-9.

Earlier Vishal Valambhia had taken 7-33 as Challow slipped from 101-2 to 158.

Challow 11, Buckingham 25.

Wallingford, who would have been champions of Division 4 had they not been docked 40 points for failing to nominate an umpire to the league’s panel, beat Chear-sley by 35 runs.

Trevor Spindler took 5-44 as Chearsley were out 140 replying to Wallingford’s 175-8 with Darren Grist (57) starring.

Wallingford 25 Chearsley 5.

Didcot suffered a 41-rundefeat at lowly Brackley.

The home side reached 174-8, with David Barnes (49) and Michael Cartwright (38no) to the fore.

Jordan Morrison took 4-50 for Didcot, who then collapsed to 133 all out against Keith Cartwright (5-32).

Brackley 25, Didcot 5.

Stephen Beard (66) and David Brooks (43) gave Tha-me Town 2nd a great start against Challow 2nd, before Gary Porter’s quickfire 45 took them to 231-5.

Luke Jones (46) gave Challow hope, but Ian McStay finished with 6-30 as the visitors were all out for 145.

Thame 2nd 25, Challow 2nd 4.

Wallingford 2nd caused a final day upset to beat Div-ision 7 champions Horspath 3rd to avoid relegation.

Ten-man Wallingford collapsed to 80 all out.

Horspath had no answer to spinner Gareth Richards (4-10), and young paceman Joe Edwards (4-22) and were bowled out for 68.

Horspath 3rd 5, Wallingford 2nd 25.

Division 8 champions Did-cot 2nd beat Banbury 4th by nine wickets.

Banbury fell for 116 to opening bowlers of Jim Tay-lor (3-21) and Sean Willmott (3-25) before Didcot’s captain Viraj Perera (76no) took his side to 119-1 in just 24 overs.

Didcot 2nd 25, Banbury 4th 2.

Didcot 3rd beat Division 9 champions Chearsley by two wickets, but just missed out on promotion.

Chearsley slipped from 75-0 to 137 all out, Mark Claridge making 57, while Raj Saw-hney (5-11) and Andy Taylor (5-22) did the damage Chearsley got home by two wickets.

Chearsley 2nd 10, Didcot 3rd 25.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree