HOCKEY: Wallingford men’s 2nd are celebrating being crowned MBBO Division 3 champions following back-to-back victories over the weekend.

They secured promotion on Saturday with a 4-1 win at Sonning 3rd, thanks to goals from Ben White, Angus Brettell, Marc Leaney and Ross Wheeler.

And a day later they wrapped up the title with a 5-4 away victory over Leighton Buzzard, leaving them an unassailable seven points clear of Oxford 3rd, who are yet to play their last game.

White (2), Tom Woods, Tom Arnott and Angus Jones were on the scoresheet.

Wallingford Ladies slipped to their first defeat in four matches when losing 4-0 at home to leaders Amersham & Chalfont in Trysports Three Counties League Premier 1.

Any Wallingford mistakes were immediately punished and the visitors led 3-0 at the break.

Amersham only scored once in the second half to complete victory by a flattering scoreline.

ROWING: Wallingford Rowing Club’s female masters did the double with overall victory in the Vesta Veteran’s Head.

Club chairman, Katie Kapernaros was away celebrating a birthday when the club won the Masters category at the Women’s Head two weeks ago.

But she returned to the crew to win the D age category by a clear 20 seconds.

With age group time handicaps applied, they were 16 seconds clear of all the women’s crews.

The winning crew was Rachael Haycock (cox), Sam Burrows, Julia Wilks, Jenny Taylor, Rachel Edge, Becky Waller, Mary Murray, Kapernaros and Helen Casey.

POINT-TO-POINT: Thousands of racegoers will flock to Lockinge on Monday for the popular Cazenove Capital Old Berkshire Hunt meeting. The first race is at 2pm.

BASKETBALL: Tassos Tzanos, from Chenderit School, Middleton Cheney, has won the award as the leading boys Under 14 scorer in the South Oxfordshire Youth League.

The equivalent girls winner was Celena Appleby-Prince, from Didcot Girls School.

LK Mahalingham, from Magdalen College School, took the most valuable defensive player award in the Under 12 League, while Reeve Mahalingham, from Abingdon Prep School, was the top scorer in the Under 10 League.