COUNTY youngsters are being urged to 'join a new generation of world leaders'.

Wantage MP Ed Vaizey is highlighting a British Council competition looking for 18-35 year olds to join a group 50 young people worldwide in a ten-day programme to learn from policy experts and inspirational leaders.

The Future Leaders Connect programme will include meetings at the UK Houses of Parliament, networking with world leaders, advanced learning from UK institutions and the chance to join an exclusive network of emerging international leaders.

Mr Vaizey is urging young people in Wantage who are interested in policy-making and leadership opportunities, to join a programme and connect to emerging leaders from around the world.

The competition is open to all young people aged 18-35 and will see ten representatives from the UK join 40 emerging policy leaders from eleven other countries.

This year, all applicants, whether successful or not, will have the opportunity to take part in a free online version of the Future Leaders Connect course in a specially-designed British Council MOOC which will launch in June.

Mr Vaizey MP said: “This is an invaluable opportunity for a motivated young person to meet similar high-achievers from around the world who are all united by their desire to make things better in their societies and beyond.

“It’s open to anybody who has an idea they think could make the world a better place – and it will give them the practical skills and networks to help pursue it.”

Applicants will be asked what their unique policy ideas are and why they have what it takes to be a global leader.

Applications must be submitted online before Monday 6 May 2019 23.59 via

They will join finalists from eleven other countries for a ten-day programme later this year which will include training in public speaking, policy development expertise and leadership skills. This will culminate with several senior meetings in the Houses of Parliament, meeting MPs and law makers.

Candidates will also be chosen to represent Canada, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Tunisia and the USA.