TOM Ferris and Charlotte Satchwell were among the big winners at Wallingford’s anniversary and awards ball.

Ferris was named men’s first team player of the year, with Satchwell landing the ladies’ accolade as the club celebrated their 125th birthday.

Vice chairman Mike Latham was presented with the Curry Pot award – club member of the year.


CR Grumball award (male young player of the year): E Jenkin. D Flavell award (female young player of the year): E Harrop. DC Perry award for contribution to the club: M Knaapen. 125th anniversary awards: J Unsworth, J Atkins & F Leigh. Mayor’s Cup (team of the year): Ladies 2nd XI. Player of the year – Men – 2nd team: E Everitt. 3rd team: J Garrod. 4th team: R Gill. 5th team: S Hall. Ladies – 2nd team: K Lawton. 3rd team: J Nutter. 4th team: M Alexander. Umpire of the season: L Cooke. Outstanding contribution to player development: C Blakey. Golding Shield for spirit of the game: T Bugg & A Jones. Top scorer – Men: J Quilter 32. Ladies: P Morris & A Lissenden 14.

Meanwhile, the county’s under 17 girls were presented with their Southern Championship medals at the Oxfordshire Hockey awards evening at Hawkwell House Hotel.

England Hockey president Simon Mason presented the team with their prizes.


Boys – U16 – Players’ player: J Zamler. Coach’s player: H Ferguson. U15 – Players’ player: F McElwaine-Johnn. Coach’s player: R Middlemiss. Girls – Under 17 – Players’player: K Brine. Coach’s player: E Potts. Under 16 – Players’ player: A Asher. Coach’s player: K Shannon. U15 – Players’ player: T Atkins & H Hargreaves. Coach’s player: E Wilkinson.

There was more regional success as Oxford became Under 14 South West T2 champions in Bristol.

Undefeated from the local round, they beat Cheltenham B 8-0 and Old Bristolians 2-0, before taking the title on goal difference with a 1-1 draw against Wootton under Edge.

Oxon: Euan Barrett, Matteo Bignone, Matt Coniam, Joseph Conway, Saif Dogar, Ivo Drury, Adam Hamid, Luke Hopper, Dylan Jamieson, Jack Lipman, Jaidon Mays, Reuben McLusky, Hiro Matsuzaki, Rohan Phillips, Max Siriwardene, Fred Weller. Coaches: Steve Mays, John Dykes.