BILLY Bodin’s new contract means Oxford United have tied down the last remaining first-team player who could have left for free this summer.

The attacking midfielder’s two-year deal follows announcements earlier this week that Elliott Moore and Alex Gorrin have signed fresh terms.

It brings the number of contracted first-team players to 18, a healthy number in the second week of June.

READ MORE: Billy Bodin signs two-year contract with Oxford United

Of the seven who are out of contract next summer, fans will be most concerned about Cameron Brannagan.

United have rejected bids from Sky Bet Championship clubs for the midfielder in the past three transfer windows and he has already been linked with second-tier sides this summer.

The U’s agreed a three-year deal with Moore before he entered the final 12 months of his contract and a similar offer for Brannagan would be an even bigger statement.

Matty Taylor’s terms are also due to expire next summer and United will surely want to tie down the No 9 from Kidlington, who has scored 58 goals since arriving in 2019.

Other players who will be out of contract in 2023 include Gorrin, James Henry, Ryan Williams and club captain John Mousinho.

READ MORE: Five free agent forwards Oxford United could sign this summer

Anthony Forde’s deal also expires, but United have the option to trigger an extra year.

Nine players are out of contract in 2024 including goalkeepers Jack Stevens and Simon Eastwood, plus defenders Sam Long, Luke McNally and Steve Seddon.

Bodin also joins Marcus McGuane, Sam Baldock and Marcus McGuane in the group whose terms expire in two years.

Of those players, only Browne’s deal is believed to have an optional extra 12 months.

Moore and January signing Oisin Smyth are the only two players whose contracts run all the way to 2025.

A further seven youngsters are also on professional deals: Mackenzie Chapman, Ben Davis, James Golding, Tyler Goodrham, Kie Plumley, Yoav Sade and Slavi Spasov - although the latter's is only short-term.

Contracts expiring in 2023

Cameron Brannagan, Anthony Forde (+1), Alex Gorrin, James Henry, John Mousinho, Matty Taylor, Ryan Williams.

Contracts expiring in 2024

Sam Baldock, Billy Bodin, Marcus Browne (+1), Simon Eastwood, Sam Long, Marcus McGuane, Luke McNally, Steve Seddon, Jack Stevens.

Contracts expiring in 2025

Elliott Moore, Oisin Smyth.