There was a double celebration for Aston Rowant at The Oxford Times Cherwell League's presentation night at the Spread Eagle Hotel, Thame.

Rowant not only collected the Division 1 championship trophy from the Oxford Times editor Derek Holmes, but also won the Peter Baker Memorial Trophy.

This award goes to the club, whose first and second teams have the highest combined points total in the league.

With Rowant's 2nd XI finishing runners-up in Division 5, the club beat Great Brickhill for the award, in honour of former Radio Oxford presenter Peter Baker.

Dave Ridgley, the Rowant 2nd captain, received the trophy on the club's behalf, after 1st XI skipper Simon Bird had collected the Division 1 cup.

By winning the title, Rowant are promoted back up to the Home Counties Premier League, from which they had been relegated the previous summer.

"We learnt a few lessons the last time we were in the Home Counties," said Bird. "We know we need to get stronger, and need a class spinner if we are to stay up this time."

All-rounder Wesley Morrick said that Rowant owed their success to the prolific run-scoring of Alex Jewell and the team ethos.

"We were really playing for each member of the side," he said.

Rowant missed out on the individual prizes.

The leading 1st XI batsman was Great Brickhill's Australian ace, Shannon Tubb, who scored 1,220 runs for the Bucks side, who won Division 5 in their first season.

His tally has only been beaten by Hasnain Raza, who scored 1,236 runs for Stokenchurch in 2004.

The leading bowler was Mohammed Ghufran, from Division 2 champions Milton Keynes, who collected 52 wickets.

Kidlington's Glen Matthews and Banbury Twenty's Mike Wedderburn won the respective 2nd XI batting and bowling awards, with Oxford batsman Mark Sheehan and bowler John Finch scooping the 3rd XI honours.

After thanking The Oxford Times for their sponsorship, league chairman Martin Phillips paid tribute to his predecessor – and the league's first president – Derek Primett, who had died during the year.

He congratulated Great Brickhill and Twyford on winning titles in their first year in the league.

He also pointed out that the league had received £3,000 in fines.

And he urged the 41 clubs to sort out their adminstration problems that had led to most of this source of revenue.


Div 1: Aston Rowant. Div 2: Milton Keynes Park. Div 3: Sandford St Martin. Div 4: Twyford. Div 5: Great Brickhill. Div 6: Wallingford. Div 7: Tiddington 2nd. Div 8A: Oxford 4th. Div 8B: Buckingham 3rd. Div 9A: Oxford Downs 3rd. Div 9B: Princes Risborough 2nd.


1st XI batting: S Tubb (Great Brickhill) 1,220 runs; bowling: Mohammed Ghufran (Milton Keynes Park) 52 wkts. 2nd XI batting: G Matthews (Kidlington) 841; bowling: M Wedderburn (Banbury Twenty) 56. 3rd XI batting: M Sheehan (Oxford) 619; bowling: J Finch (Oxford) 37 Peter Baker Memorial Trophy (1st & 2nd XI most aggregate points): 1 Aston Rowant, 2 Great Brickhill.