IAN Johnston claimed a six-wicket haul as OCA League Division 1 leaders Charlbury edged closer to the title by brushing aside hosts Stonesfield by three wickets in their penultimate game of the season.

Batting first, Stonesfield were dismissed for just 70 as Johnston took 6-24 in his 12 overs.

The visitors made hard work of their run chase on the way to 71-7.

In Division 2, Witney Swifts slumped to an eight-wicket defeat at home to Clifton Hampden.

Laurence Harvey’s 4-34 helped restrict Swifts to 147-8 in their 45 overs, before Morley Benson hit 75 not out to steer Clifton to 148-2.

Chadlington’s relegation was confirmed with an eight-wicket defeat at Broughton & North Newington.

James Morgan (4-24) and Tom Hill (3-24) were on song for Broughton as Chadlington were shot out for 85, Broughton reaching 86-2 in reply.

Eynsham’s 28-run win at Chipping Norton eased their relegation fears.

Sam Jones (50) and Roland Margerison (41) helped Eynsham to 231-8, Charith Karawita taking 4-47.

Rhys Warner-Carter’s unbeaten 54 helped Chippy past 200, but they finished on 203-6.

Stanton Harcourt took over at the top of Division 3 as they ran out four-wicket winners at Risinghurst.

Andy Walker (3-31) helped to dismiss Risinghurst for 147, before Chris Pascoe hit 39 and Jake Souch 35 not out in Stanton’s 150-6.

Steve Litten’s 5-21 sent hosts Kilkenny tumbling to 96 all out as Kidlington won by 53 runs.

Earlier, Edd Wilmot hit 44 and Sam Rodway 32 in Kidlington’s 149-8.

Hanborough lost by 60 runs at Tetsworth.Kailash Meghji top-scored with 73 as Tetsworth reached 162 all out, and that proved way beyond Hanborough as they fell to 102 all out, Sailesh Babu taking 5-21. Bampton won their top-of-the-table clash at home to Brill by six wickets after shooting the leaders out for a paltry 38 in Division 4.

Julian Easterbrook took 3-10 for Bampton, who then reached 39-4 to wrap up victory.

Swinbrook were edged out by three wickets at Sunningwell.

Ali Khushi scored an excellent 97 in Swinbrook’s 195 all out, Nathan Himpson taking 4-58.

Sunningwell replied with 198-7 as Thomas Harris hit 51 and Dom Whinfrey 37 – a knock that contained five sixes.

George Townsend returned superb figures of 7-26 as Ducklington romped to a ten-wicket victory at Great Horwood 2nd in Division 5.

Horwood were shot out for just 53 on a very damp pitch, before Jacob Hughes hit 30 not out to steer Ducklington to 54-0.

Combe slipped to a one-wicket defeat at Radley.

Chris Moore’s 58 not out was the only bright spot as Combe crawled to 104-8 in their 45 overs.

Radley too, lost regular wickets, but edged to victory at 105-9, despite 4-36 from Dave Gardner.

Charlbury 2nd fell to a 19-run defeat at home to second-placed Tetsworth 2nd in Division 6.

Tim Jarvis claimed 7-18 as Tetsworth were bowled out for only 104, but Ayman Aman (3-8) and Haider Zaman (3-42) sent Charlbury tumbling to 85 all out.

In Division 7, Witney Swifts 2nd beat second-placed Middleton Cheney 2nd by 78 runs.

Swifts were all out for 136, Ben Horne top-scoring with 40.

Graeme Woodward then claimed 4-19 and Harry Hamblin 3-14 as Middleton were all out for 58 in their reply.

Hook Norton 2nd’s John Weaver took 6-27 to set up a 120-run win at Charlbury 3rd.

Clive Plant (53) helped Hooky to 178 all out, Kieran Reynolds taking 4-61, and Weaver’s haul helped dismiss Charlbury for 58.

Westcott 2nd defeated hosts Chadlington 2nd by three wickets.

Restricting Chadlington to 127-8, Tom Young taking 4-25, Westcott reached 128-7 as Jim Forrest hit 43.

l Witney Swifts hold their annual President’s Day on Sunday when an invitational XI, selected by Swifts’ president Gordon Clack, will take on the first team on The Leys.

The match, which starts at 1pm, will raise money for the Andy Fisher Foundation, set up in memory of Swifts’ former captain and chairman to help fund junior cricket in Witney and the surrounding area.