NIGEL Hume was the star of the show as Faringdon won the Airey Cup final with a resounding seven-wicket triumph over Wolvercote.

Hume was awarded the man-of-the-match trophy after a scintillating innings of 77 off 54 balls led Faringdon to victory inside 27 overs.

Wolvercote batted first at Stonesfield, but were restricted to 139 all out, Rob Owen taking 5-36, Will Oglesby 2-45 and Mike Hume 2-18.

Faringdon lost two early wickets, but Nigel Hume’s exploits put Faringdon well on course for victory.

The win was wrapped up with Jack Tomes finishing 28 not out and Will Oglesby unbeaten on 15.

In the OCA League, Faringdon edged past hosts Wolvercote by one wicket to close the gap on leaders Charlbury to 43 points with a game in hand in Division 1.

Will Oglesby took 4-23 and Alex Robinshaw 3-22 as Faringdon dismissed their hosts for 107.

But Brian George (3-23) and Sam Payne (3-28) kept Wolvercote in the game, only for the visitors to edge in at 108-9.

Wootton & Boars Hill remain hot on the heels of Division 2 leaders Witney Swifts after a seven-wicket win against Broughton & North Newington.

Restricting Broughton to 160-7, Wootton eased in at 164-3 as Billy Webb hit 71 and Shaun Morton 56 not out.

Clifton Hampden brushed aside eight-man Marsh Gibbon by eight wickets.

Three wickets each for Darren Clark and Jack Stimpson sent struggling Marsh tumbling to 54 all out, Clifton easing in at 57-2.

Wantage chased down Chipping Norton’s 234 all out, for whom Charith Karawita hit 109, to seal a five-wicket win.

Barry Martin starred in Wantage’s reply with 77 not out, while Steve Pritchard hit 51.

In Division 3, Watlington saw off visitors Risinghurst by seven wickets as Neil Maguire starred with 5-33.

Marcham beat Bampton by two wickets in Division 4.

James Bray struck 90 not out in Bampton’s 207-4, but a fine 95 from Stuart Armstrong saw Marcham to victory at 210-8.

West Ilsley inflicted an eight-wicket defeat on Swinbrook.

Only Andrew Wingfield Digby (64no) got going in Swinbrook’s 138-5, and Ilsley made light work of the target, Wayne Lyford finishing 96 not out as they reached 139-2.

Sunningwell were dismissed for 61 as they lost by eight wickets to Uffington.

Stuart Symes smashed 101 for Britwell Salome in their 108-run win at Kennington in Division 5.

Britwell posted 195-4, before Nick Humphries took 4-10 as Kennington were shot out for 87.

Ducklington cruised past hosts Radley by eight wickets.

Chasing Radley’s 190 all out, Ducklington cruised in at 191-2 as Jacob Hughes hit 86 and Liam Day 70 not out.

In Division 6, Charlbury 2nd edged past hosts Faringdon 2nd by two wickets.

Jonathan Moore (56) helped Faringdon to 209-5, but 66 from Tom Eaton saw Charlbury to 210-8 and a thrilling win.

Oxenford 2nd saw off hosts East & West Hendred 2nd by 41 runs.

After being shot out for 129, Oxenford bowled Hendred out for just 88 as Sameer Kesava took 3-18.

In Division 8 South, Nicholas Little’s 102 not out helped Watlington 2nd to an 86-run victory at second-placed Chalgrove.

Little helped Watlington to 157 all out, Ricky Armstrong taking 4-18.

Chalgrove fell to 71 all out as Tynan Crockett claimed 4-11 and Little 3-14.

Sunningwell 2nd saw off visitors Kennington 2nd by 47 runs.

Colin Thorpe scored 83 in Sunningwell’s 166 before Will Ray and Andrew Barrett both took 3-34 in Kennington’s 119 all out.

Letcombe crushed eight-man Uffington 2nd by ten wickets.